X# Core - How to send query to Sql Server, get a cursor or table?

This forum is meant for examples of X# code.

Anonymous

Post by Anonymous »

I'm exploring X# Core as total newbie... Learning a little more by the hour. I am only interested in Core stuff at this point, and have no experience or need of VO related paths.

So, my next step of eye-opening experience in X# would be if I could send a SQL query to my Sql Server instance, and get a cursor (or "table" or "data table" or whatever is it called). Then I want to display those rows in a grid on a WinForm.

So, would I be doing this with X# Core commands/objects, or would it be .Net DataSets and DataTables from ADO.net?

Does Entity Framework 6 from .Net have a place in this X# world? I already know Entity Framework.

I presently hist my Sql Server from FoxPro using SqlExec() command and get back a native FoxPro cursor. I'm trying to find parallel workflows in X# Core or else someone get me going in the right paradigm shift I need to make for X#.
lumberjack

Post by lumberjack »

mattslay wrote:I'm exploring X# Core as total newbie... only interested in Core stuff at this point

So, my next step of eye-opening experience in X# would be if I could send a SQL query to my Sql Server instance, and get a cursor (or "table" or "data table" or whatever is it called). Then I want to display those rows in a grid on a WinForm.
Yes, with Core you would do it the way you do it in c#. Pseudo-code:

Code: Select all

FUNCTION Start() AS VOID
  LOCAL oForm AS MyForm
  oForm := MyForm{}
  Application.Run(oForm)
RETURN
CLASS MyForm INHERIT Form
  CONSTRUCTOR()
    SUPER() // base() in c#
    SELF:InitializeForm()
  RETURN
  METHOD InitializeForm() AS VOID
    VAR oConn := SqlServerConnection{<InitParameters>}
    VAR oComm := SqlServerCommand{<InitParameters>}
    oComm:CommandText := "select * from mytable where..."
    oComm:Connection:Open()
    VAR rdr := oComm:ExecuteReader()
    WHILE rdr:Read()

ENDDO