My Woes worsen....

Public support forum for peer to peer support with related to the Visual Objects and Vulcan.NET products
Anonymous

My Woes worsen....

Post by Anonymous »

Here is THE single most simple code ANYONE could write, yes?:

METHOD Start() CLASS App
self:Quit()
Return self

What could go wrong? Right? well see the attached screenshots below. Bear in mind please the original version of this "app" contains no actual screens, it's whole purpose in life is to create databases and their indexes..That's all...

I seriously do not know what to do. I've completely uninstalled VO and all associated programs - bBrowser, ReportPro etc, trolled through the Registry looking for any trace of CAVO, Grafx, Associates, Computer, etc until I'd deleted every last trace. REVO uninstaller then found nothing at all, and so did a further scan on the registry. I rebooted the PC, and reinstalled everything from scratch,and this is the result...
Attachments
corrupt...again.JPG
corrupt...again.JPG (15.01 KiB) Viewed 230 times
so over this.JPG
so over this.JPG (33.84 KiB) Viewed 230 times
User avatar
lumberjack
Posts: 723
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 3:11 pm

My Woes worsen....

Post by lumberjack »

Jeff,
BiggyRat wrote:Here is THE single most simple code ANYONE could write, yes?:
METHOD Start() CLASS App
self:Quit()
Return self
What could go wrong? Right? well see the attached screenshots below. Bear in mind please the original version of this "app" contains no actual screens, it's whole purpose in life is to create databases and their indexes..That's all...
I seriously do not know what to do. I've completely uninstalled VO and all associated programs - bBrowser, ReportPro etc, trolled through the Registry looking for any trace of CAVO, Grafx, Associates, Computer, etc until I'd deleted every last trace. REVO uninstaller then found nothing at all, and so did a further scan on the registry. I rebooted the PC, and reinstalled everything from scratch,and this is the result...
First thing, why would you want your application to return SELF? Normally you would want to return an error code (INT).

Set a breakpoint on your Quit line and step through in DEBUG mode. I think you trying to fix something that ain't broke and break it further...
BiggyRat

My Woes worsen....

Post by BiggyRat »

Really? I don't see how. This is the ENTIRE app code.

METHOD Start() CLASS App
/* LOCAL oServer as DbServer
local aDBF as array
Local cDir
cDir := WorkDir() + "Invoices"
DirMake(cDir)
cDir := WorkDir() + "Filters"
DirMake(cDir)
cDir := WorkDir() + "Original Reports"
DirMake(cDir)

request dbfcdx
RddSetDefault("DBFCDX")
Set Decimals to 2


// Create Client Database and Indexes
aDBF := {}
AAdd(aDBF, {"ClCode", "C", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"ClName", "C", 100, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"ClAdd1", "C", 100, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"ClAdd2", "C", 100, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"ClState", "C", 3, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"ClSuburb", "C", 50, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"ClPhone", "C", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"ClPcode", "C", 4, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"ClABN", "C", 20, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"ClEmail", "C", 100, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"ClComments", "M", 10, 0})
DBCREATE("CLIENT", aDBF, "DBFCDX")
oServer := DbServer{"Client"}
oServer:CreateOrder("CLCode", "Client","CLCode",,.T.)
oServer:CreateOrder("CLName", "Client", "ClName")
oServer:CreateOrder("ClState", "Client", "ClState")
oServer:CreateOrder("CLPcode", "Client", "ClPCode")
oServer:Commit()
oServer:Close()



//Create Details Database and Indexes
aDBF := {}
AAdd(aDBF, {"ClCode", "C", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"ClName", "C", 100, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"JobDate", "D", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"JobFin", "L", 1, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"JobTime", "C", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"JobDetails", "M", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"NPC", "M", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"JobNumber", "C", 5, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"PONumber", "C", 15, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"Rate", "N", 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"Units", "N", 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"RateType", "C", 15, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"Subby", "C", 50, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"Rego", "C", 50, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"Invoiced", "L", 1, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"InvFile", "C", 250, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"MapFile", "C", 250, 0})
DBCREATE("Details", aDBF, "DBFCDX")
oServer := DbServer{"DETAILS"}
oServer:CreateOrder("CLCode", "Details", "CLCode" )
oServer:CreateOrder("CLNTrim", "Details", "Alltrim(CLCode) + ' ' + Alltrim(CLNAME)" )
oServer:CreateOrder("JobDate", "Details", "JobDate")
oServer:CreateOrder("JobFin", "Details", "JobFin")
oServer:CreateOrder("JobNumber", "Details", "JobNumber")
oServer:CreateOrder("PONumber", "Details", "PONumber",, .T.)
oServer:CreateOrder("Subby", "Details", "Subby",, .T.)
oServer:CreateOrder("Rego", "Details", "Rego")
oServer:CreateOrder("Invoiced", "Details", "Invoiced")
oServer:CreateOrder("InvFile", "Details", "InvFile")
oServer:CreateOrder("MapFile", "Details", "MapFile")
oServer:Commit()
oServer:Close()


//Create JobNumber Database
aDBF := {}
AAdd(aDBF, {"JobNumber", "N", 5, 0})
DBCREATE("JobNo", aDBF, "dbfcdx")
oServer := DbServer{"JobNo"}
oServer:CreateOrder("JobNumber", "JobNo","JobNumber")
oServer:APPEND()
oServer:FIELDPUT(#JobNumber, 0)
oServer:Commit()
oServer:Close()



// Create Rates Database and Indexes
aDBF := {}
AAdd(aDBF, {"RateType", "C", 10, 0})
DBCREATE("Rates", aDBF, "DBFCDX")
oServer := DbServer{"RATES"}
oServer:APPEND()
oServer:FIELDPUT(#RateType, "Each")
oServer:APPEND()
oServer:FIELDPUT(#RateType, "Hourly")
oServer:APPEND()
oServer:FIELDPUT(#RateType, "Quoted")
oServer:APPEND()
oServer:FIELDPUT(#RateType, "Zone")
oServer:Commit()
oServer:Close()

// Create Trucks Database and Indexes
aDBF := {}
AAdd(aDBF, {"TruckType", "C", 15, 0})
DBCREATE("Trucks", aDBF, "DBFCDX")
oServer := DbServer{"TRUCKS"}
oServer:APPEND()
oServer:FIELDPUT(#TruckType, "HIAB")
oServer:APPEND()
oServer:FIELDPUT(#TruckType, "FT")
oServer:APPEND()
oServer:FIELDPUT(#TruckType, "DD")
oServer:APPEND()
oServer:FIELDPUT(#TruckType, "DDE")
oServer:APPEND()
oServer:FIELDPUT(#TruckType, "TILT")
oServer:APPEND()
oServer:FIELDPUT(#TruckType, "DDH")
oServer:Commit()
oServer:Close()

// Create Configuration File Database
aDBF := {}
AAdd(aDBF, {"FromEmail", "C", 100, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"TermDays", "N", 3, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"EOM", "N", 3, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"CLName", "C", 100, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"ABN", "C", 15, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"Add1", "C", 100, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"Add2", "C", 100, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"Suburb", "C", 50, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"State", "C", 3, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"Pcode", "C", 4, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"Phone1", "C", 20, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"Email", "C", 100, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"TandC", "M", 10, 0})
DBCREATE("BMConfig", aDBF, "DBFCDX")

// Create Costings Database and Indexes

aDBF := {}
AAdd(aDBF, {"JobNumber", "C", 5, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"JobDate", "D", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"ClCode", "C", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"ClName", "C", 100, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"JobTime", "C", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"Rate", "N", 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"Units", "N", 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"S1", "C", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"S2", "C", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"S3", "C", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"S4", "C", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"S5", "C", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"S6", "C", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"S7", "C", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"S8", "C", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"S9", "C", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"S10", "C", 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"SV1", 'N', 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"SV2", 'N', 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"SV3", 'N', 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"SV4", 'N', 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"SV5", 'N', 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"SV6", 'N', 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"SV7", 'N', 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"SV8", 'N', 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"SV9", 'N', 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"SV10", 'N', 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"R1", "C", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"R2", "C", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"R3", "C", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"R4", "C", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"R5", "C", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"R6", "C", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"R7", "C", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"R8", "C", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"R9", "C", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"R10", "C", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"RV1", "N", 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"RV2", "N", 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"RV3", "N", 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"RV4", "N", 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"RV5", "N", 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"RV6", "N", 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"RV7", "N", 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"RV8", "N", 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"RV9", "N", 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"RV10", "N", 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"T1", "C", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"T2", "C", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"T3", "C", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"T4", "C", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"T5", "C", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"T6", "C", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"T7", "C", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"T8", "C", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"T9", "C", 10, 0})
AAdd(aDBF, {"T10", "C", 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"TV1", 'N', 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"TV2", 'N', 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"TV3", 'N', 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"TV4", 'N', 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"TV5", 'N', 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"TV6", 'N', 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"TV7", 'N', 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"TV8", 'N', 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"TV9", 'N', 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"TV10", 'N', 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"TotalS", "N", 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"TotalR", "N", 10, 2})
AAdd(aDBF, {"TotalT", "N", 10, 2})

DBCREATE("Costings", aDBF, "DBFCDX")
oServer := DbServer{"COSTINGS"}
oServer:CreateOrder("JobNumber", "Costings", "JobNumber")
oServer:CreateOrder("CLCode", "Costings", "CLCode" )
oServer:CreateOrder("JobDate", "Costings", "JobDate")
oServer:Commit()
oServer:Close()

FCopy("BMInvoice.rpt", cDir + "BMInvoice.rpt")
FCopy("Blank Invoice.rpt", cDir + "Blank Invoice.rpt")
FCopy("JobNumber.rpt", cDir + "JobNumber.rpt")
FCopy("JobList.rpt", cDir + "JobList.rpt")
FCopy("WorkSheet.rpt", cDir + "WorkSheet.rpt")
FCopy("Client Details.rpt", cDir + "Client Details.rpt")
*/
self:Quit()

Return self


So I did as you suggested Johan, and I got this rather helpful error... see attached...

btw, THE entire ERROR LOG FILE CONTAINS THE FOLLOWING....

******************************************************************************
Date/Time: 2019-06-17 16:19:43
Version : Visual Objects 2.8 SP4b build 2838

Error : An unhandled exception (0xC0000005) occurred inside module:
: C:cavo28BinCAVOPP.DLL at 0x074BF2CC

Registers: EAX = 0x00000000 EBX = 0x0000002C ECX = 0x00000D90 EDX = 0x00000000
: ESI = 0x00000006 EDI = 0x074D5540 ESP = 0x013DC0E8 EBP = 0x013DC0E8

******************************************************************************
Date/Time: 2019-06-17 17:10:12
Version : Visual Objects 2.8 SP4b build 2838

Error : An unhandled exception (0xC0000005) occurred inside module:
: C:cavo28Bincavo28.exe at 0x00000000

Registers: EAX = 0x015DBA8C EBX = 0x0E359C6C ECX = 0x775A1CBC EDX = 0x015DBAA0
: ESI = 0x0E351384 EDI = 0x00000740 ESP = 0x015DBA54 EBP = 0x096B0DA0
Attachments
and then.JPG
and then.JPG (23.18 KiB) Viewed 230 times
Karl-Heinz
Posts: 774
Joined: Wed May 17, 2017 8:50 am

My Woes worsen....

Post by Karl-Heinz »

BiggyRat wrote:Here is THE single most simple code ANYONE could write, yes?:

METHOD Start() CLASS App
self:Quit()
Return self

Hi Jeff,

About your "CreateProcess() failed" error msg:.

Your app name contains the word "setup". Rename it to "bmdbInst", whereby "inst" is a synonym for "install" - which is also a bad word :-).

BTW. Your chosen topic description is - as always - bad too :-)

regards
Karl-Heinz
User avatar
wriedmann
Posts: 3644
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 5:07 pm
Location: Italy

My Woes worsen....

Post by wriedmann »

Hi Jeff,

if you don't need any GUI, why do you not use the Console application type?

Wolfgang
Wolfgang Riedmann
Meran, South Tyrol, Italy
wolfgang@riedmann.it
https://www.riedmann.it - https://docs.xsharp.it
BiggyRat

My Woes worsen....

Post by BiggyRat »

Well Karl-Heinz, if you don't like my subject title(s), change it/them. Seems to be a lot of that going on for me atm. That code ASIS has been working flawlessly for over 6 months. NOW it's changed? WHY? Can't you see how frustrating this is? I am not as stupid as you appear to think me, it's just that things that WERE working suddenly change, for no apparent reason. Just like that date format problem. For 3 months at least that worked fine. It was one of the first screens I wrote for this app. Then, suddenly it stops. Again why? I'm all for logic, I try to think what may have changed, but when things just happen out of the blue, and not just once, but regularly, it becomes VERY frustrating.

For another example, this file I've been writing about is about 6 months old. Never been a problem NOW, all of a sudden the word "setup" contained in the exe file name is taboo! WTFH. WHY all of a sudden? What has changed? I can't believe this is ALL my doing.
User avatar
robert
Posts: 4225
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 10:57 am
Location: Netherlands

My Woes worsen....

Post by robert »

Jeff,

1) The error log has a reference to CAVOPP.DLL. Do you have a Clipper Header file in your application's properties ? I see no need for this in your code. Please remove that header file.

2) An app that uses GUI Classes should also reference System Classes.

3) In a previous message you wrote that you had a problem with BUILDREPO.EXE. Are you using the system repository that came with the product or did you create your own system repository (because that is what the BuildRepo tool is needed for)? If you are using your own system repository, then please switch back to the normal system repository. If you don't know what I am talking about then please don't run BuildRepo.exe in the future.

Robert
XSharp Development Team
The Netherlands
robert@xsharp.eu
BiggyRat

My Woes worsen....

Post by BiggyRat »

1) The error log has a reference to CAVOPP.DLL. Do you have a Clipper Header file in your application's properties ? I see no need for this in your code. Please remove that header file.
No, Robert there are none. That error cropped up, as usual, during a full app compile.
2) An app that uses GUI Classes should also reference System Classes.
That was just showing the bear minimum it would compile with, The full code is posted later, but I haven't posted the libraries included (System and RDD Classes as well as GUI)
3) In a previous message you wrote that you had a problem with BUILDREPO.EXE. Are you using the system repository that came with the product or did you create your own system repository (because that is what the BuildRepo tool is needed for)? If you are using your own system repository, then please switch back to the normal system repository. If you don't know what I am talking about then please don't run BuildRepo.exe in the future.
As I say Robert, I'm not THAT stupid. I have 2 repositories - "Default" and "Lightning PC" it doesn't matter, the BuildRepo.exe won't run.
User avatar
wriedmann
Posts: 3644
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 5:07 pm
Location: Italy

My Woes worsen....

Post by wriedmann »

Hi Jeff,
For another example, this file I've been writing about is about 6 months old. Never been a problem NOW, all of a sudden the word "setup" contained in the exe file name is taboo! WTFH. WHY all of a sudden? What has changed? I can't believe this is ALL my doing.
This is something done by Microsoft since at least Windows 8, and has nothing to do with VO itself

Wolfgang
Wolfgang Riedmann
Meran, South Tyrol, Italy
wolfgang@riedmann.it
https://www.riedmann.it - https://docs.xsharp.it
BiggyRat

My Woes worsen....

Post by BiggyRat »

I get that Wolfgang, but my point is "why is it NOW a problem for me?" as of 2 days ago, it was fine...
Post Reply