Use of ReportPro 2 in a migrated VO application

This forum is the place to discuss issues related to ReportPro, Xs2Ado, Vo2Ado, bBrowser and other 3rd party products
Post Reply
User avatar
wriedmann
Posts: 3644
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 5:07 pm
Location: Italy

Use of ReportPro 2 in a migrated VO application

Post by wriedmann »

Hi,
I have now tried to use ReportPro 2 in a migrated VO application, and have some problems.

In VO, the class RpReport can be simply instanciated - in the X# version no more because the class is defined as abstract. And there are missing some methods of the class RpReport, like SetVariableValue() and PrintPreview().

I have looked in the assembly ReportPro2.Runtime.dll.

What I'm missing here?

Thank you very much!

Wolfgang
Wolfgang Riedmann
Meran, South Tyrol, Italy
wolfgang@riedmann.it
https://www.riedmann.it - https://docs.xsharp.it
User avatar
wriedmann
Posts: 3644
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 5:07 pm
Location: Italy

Use of ReportPro 2 in a migrated VO application

Post by wriedmann »

Hello,

I have found it now: the class to use is RpReportRDD or RpReportSQL.

Wolfgang
Wolfgang Riedmann
Meran, South Tyrol, Italy
wolfgang@riedmann.it
https://www.riedmann.it - https://docs.xsharp.it
User avatar
robert
Posts: 4225
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 10:57 am
Location: Netherlands

Use of ReportPro 2 in a migrated VO application

Post by robert »

Wolfgang,
That is right. There is also a 3rd class RpReportDesigner that needs to be used when you want to include the designer in your app.

Robert
XSharp Development Team
The Netherlands
robert@xsharp.eu
User avatar
wriedmann
Posts: 3644
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 5:07 pm
Location: Italy

Use of ReportPro 2 in a migrated VO application

Post by wriedmann »

Hi Robert,

thank you very much!
Do you need a list of overloaded methods that need to be changed so the rpReportRDD object can be used in existing VO applications?

Wolfgang
Wolfgang Riedmann
Meran, South Tyrol, Italy
wolfgang@riedmann.it
https://www.riedmann.it - https://docs.xsharp.it
User avatar
robert
Posts: 4225
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 10:57 am
Location: Netherlands

Use of ReportPro 2 in a migrated VO application

Post by robert »

Wolfgang,
Yes please.

Robert
XSharp Development Team
The Netherlands
robert@xsharp.eu
User avatar
wriedmann
Posts: 3644
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 5:07 pm
Location: Italy

Use of ReportPro 2 in a migrated VO application

Post by wriedmann »

Hi Robert,
the RpReportRDD class has currently the following parameter list:

Code: Select all

METHOD PrintPreview(cJobName AS STRING, cPrint2FileName AS STRING, cCaption AS STRING, cMessage AS STRING, lModal AS LOGIC, nShowState AS INT, nZoom AS DWORD, symPPWindow AS SYMBOL) AS VOID
AFAIK this list is not congruent with the VO version.
So at least the following overload is needed:

Code: Select all

METHOD PrintPreview(cJobName AS STRING, cPrint2FileName AS STRING, cCaption AS STRING, cMessage AS STRING, lModal AS LOGIC, nShowState AS INT) AS VOID
and maybe also this one:

Code: Select all

METHOD PrintPreview(cJobName AS STRING, cPrint2FileName AS STRING, cCaption AS STRING, cMessage AS STRING, lModal AS LOGIC, nShowState AS INT, nZoom AS DWORD) AS VOID
Wolfgang
Wolfgang Riedmann
Meran, South Tyrol, Italy
wolfgang@riedmann.it
https://www.riedmann.it - https://docs.xsharp.it
User avatar
robert
Posts: 4225
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 10:57 am
Location: Netherlands

Use of ReportPro 2 in a migrated VO application

Post by robert »

Wolfgang,
In the next build of RP2 I have added default values for most of these parameters

Code: Select all

    METHOD PrintPreview(cJobName := "" AS STRING, cPrint2FileName := "" AS STRING, cCaption := "" AS STRING, ;
cMessage := "" AS STRING, lModal := FALSE AS LOGIC, nShowState := SW_SHOWNORMAL AS INT, ;
nZoom := ZOOM_WHOLE_PAGE AS DWORD, symPPWindow := NULL_SYMBOL AS SYMBOL) AS VOID
That should help, I think.


Robert
XSharp Development Team
The Netherlands
robert@xsharp.eu
User avatar
wriedmann
Posts: 3644
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 5:07 pm
Location: Italy

Use of ReportPro 2 in a migrated VO application

Post by wriedmann »

Hi Robert,

thank you very much!

May I suggest another change: in VO, the report class is RpReport, and in X# the RpReport class is abstract.
I would rename the abstract class to RpReportBase (or any other name), and add three new assemblies that define stub classes called RpReport, inheriting from RpReportRDD, RpReportSQL and RpReportDesigner.
So for migrated applications everyone could decide which assembly to include, and no VO code needs to be changed.
For applications migrated from Vulcan there is no change needed.
Wolfgang
Wolfgang Riedmann
Meran, South Tyrol, Italy
wolfgang@riedmann.it
https://www.riedmann.it - https://docs.xsharp.it
User avatar
robert
Posts: 4225
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2015 10:57 am
Location: Netherlands

Use of ReportPro 2 in a migrated VO application

Post by robert »

Wolfgang,
I'll see what I can do.

Robert
XSharp Development Team
The Netherlands
robert@xsharp.eu
User avatar
wriedmann
Posts: 3644
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 5:07 pm
Location: Italy

Use of ReportPro 2 in a migrated VO application

Post by wriedmann »

Thank you very much, Robert!
Wolfgang Riedmann
Meran, South Tyrol, Italy
wolfgang@riedmann.it
https://www.riedmann.it - https://docs.xsharp.it
Post Reply