Hello, I'm Tracy

We encourage new members to introduce themselves here. Get to know one another and share your interests.
Tracy-P

Hello, I'm Tracy

Post by Tracy-P »

I've been writing VFP code for over 20 years.
I work full time where I maintain and add new features on a production product written in VFP 9.
We are in the process of finding a new code base to work with.

Tracy
Chris

Hello, I'm Tracy

Post by Chris »

Hello Tracy and welcome to X#! Exciting times should be ahead in the next months!
Chris Pyrgas

XSharp Development Team test
chris(at)xsharp.eu
FoxProMatt

Hello, I'm Tracy

Post by FoxProMatt »

Hi Tracy. Welcome to X#. It's still early in X#.VFP, so you're getting in at the ground level.

Have downloaded and installed X# yet?
lumberjack

Hello, I'm Tracy

Post by lumberjack »

Hi Tracy,
Tracy-P wrote:I've been writing VFP code for over 20 years.
I work full time where I maintain and add new features on a production product written in VFP 9.
We are in the process of finding a new code base to work with.
Welcome, start small with your new code base and play with a mix of VFP and X# style...
Terry

Hello, I'm Tracy

Post by Terry »

Hi Tracy

> We are in the process of finding a new code base to work with.

Just in case you are deliberating on this issue, FWIW I do not think there will be and easier or quicker forward path for you to follow than that offered by XSharp.

The reason for saying this is that XSharp development is driven by a Development Team that, several years ago now, before the .NET era, had the foresight to split computer memory management away from application logic, meaning that the former could be handled entirely automatically.

The result, Visual Objects, was a very easy to use development language. It was ahead of anything that Microsoft had published that I had read at the time (though I've no doubt they were thinking internally along the same lines).