Getting started for Dummies

Have some feedback and input to share?
Don't be shy and drop us a note. We want to hear from you and strive to make our site better and more user friendly for our guests and members a like.
lagi

Post by lagi »

Hi,

I'm not a newbie and Ive programmes Cobol, Fortran and Pscal from University , through machine code and nearly all the mainstream stuff in between - I got into C using Small C from Doctor Dobbs Journal.

I haven't had any problem with ANY other language on Windows creating a form with a Button that puts your own "hello world" into the field on click or does anything.

I have created a "hello world" withing a form with the button and field writing to the console using a start function found on the forums (with difficulty)
----------------------------
error XS1558: 'Functions' does not have a suitable static Start method
Compilation failed (1 error)
--------------------------

I presume the start function starts the "event loop" in Foxpro parlance.

Try as I might (ok 2 hours) I cannot compile a version that runs the form without getting compilation errors.

Delphi's "two way" code , VFPs snippets etc made sense without reading any documentation I just can't see how to do this withouit a SIMPLE project we can download and tear apart.

I would suggest a part of the forum where we can share code Ala Powerbasic (yeah ive used that as well o0n machines with 256K of memory and a floppy drive )

Maybe I can't see the wood for the trees or I a have lost it in my Old age - I hope it's the former

I know I will get my AHA moment - but I don't want to drown first - any help appreciated.

Kindest Regards Lagi
wriedmann

Post by wriedmann »

Hi Lagi,

again me <g>. To start, install XIDE (yes, it has Greek origins) and play with the samples in there.
Maybe they are a bit VO-inspired, but should help to get started (and yes, some of the samples have not Greek origin).

Wolfgang
Wolfgang Riedmann
Meran, South Tyrol, Italy