the WPF Designer / Editor 'surface' in Visual Studio.

Public forum to share code snippets, screen shorts, experiences, etc.
Phil Hepburn

Post by Phil Hepburn »

Hi guys of the X# forum,

I am starting this thread as a result of me being aware that some / many forum readers seem unfamiliar with the strengths and complexities of the Designer for WPF forms - within Visual Studio.

I have been using the in-built designer / editor for many years and I see that the first image I will show you was done some time around 2010, latest possible date of 2012. Yes, its 5 to 7 years old - lets call it SIX years for simplicity.

Before I show you this non-trivial WPF form, let me says that to get the best from WPF design, we need to take firmly on board the fact that it is a 'nested' design, where we have control objects within other control objects and so on as deep as we like. This is what causes most folks the problems they report, and get frustrated over.

Okay then, lets take a look at my Invoices screen, shown at 'DevShare' 2011 I believe :-
Designer_01.jpg
Designer_01.jpg (83.31 KiB) Viewed 220 times
Yes, there is a lot of detail, even though I was no expert, and don't profess to be one even now.

In fact what we have is four Grids within an outer Grid. We can see this by opening up the Window called 'Document Outline' - check this below :-
Designer_02.jpg
Designer_02.jpg (37.05 KiB) Viewed 220 times
This is to be found under 'View >> other windows >> document outline' - or Ctrl+Alt+T .

Now then, as with more complex designers, like those in DTP (desk top processors) and AutoCAD drawing type tools, we can have locking and hiding of screen elements, to make work on other parts easier. Lets see some images of Lock and Hide :-
Designer_03.jpg
Designer_03.jpg (25.44 KiB) Viewed 220 times
Designer_04.jpg
Designer_04.jpg (38.12 KiB) Viewed 220 times
Designer_05.jpg
Designer_05.jpg (41.79 KiB) Viewed 220 times