ReportPro 3.9 and sql table swap

This forum is the place to discuss issues related to ReportPro, Xs2Ado, Vo2Ado, bBrowser and other 3rd party products
gjbiagiotti
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2019 10:16 pm

ReportPro 3.9 and sql table swap

Post by gjbiagiotti »

Hello everyone.
I use VO 2.8, Report Pro 3.9 (Active X) and PostgreSQL. The problem I have is when creating a report with auxiliary tables, then in execution I change the name of the report table and when executing the command:
SELF: oReport: PreviewReport ()
An error message appears: Subsystem Error: 00000
The code is the following:
SELF: oReport: = IRpRuntime {"ReportPro.Runtime.39"}
SELF: oReport: LoadReport (cReporte)
SELF: oReport: SetConnection (CONNECTION_ODBC, oGvar: cDriverSQL, 1, 1)
SELF: oReport: SetTableStringAttribute (1, TableAux, SQLTABLE_ATTR_TABLE, TableNew)
SELF: oReport: Connect2Source ()
SELF: oReport: PreviewReport ()
SELF: oReport: Close ()
SELF: oReport: Destroy ()
SELF: oReport: = NULL_OBJECT

But if I use the same table name with which the report was created, it works fine.
Does anyone know what the problem may be?
Thanks a lot.

Gerard of Argentine
gjbiagiotti
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2019 10:16 pm

ReportPro 3.9 and sql table swap

Post by gjbiagiotti »

Hello
I also tried changing this line:
SELF: oReport: SetTableStringAttribute (1, TableAux, SQLTABLE_ATTR_TABLE, TableNew)
for this:
SELF: oReport: SetTableStringAttribute (1, "DSN", SQLQUERY_ATTR_SQL_FROM, "TableAux as TableNew") // From.

and it keeps giving the same error: Subsystem Error: 00000
What I could see is that the problem is caused by changing the table with which the report was designed.
Has anyone had this problem with Report Pro 3.9?
User avatar
TimothyS
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2016 3:39 pm
Location: Australia

ReportPro 3.9 and sql table swap

Post by TimothyS »

Hi.

I'm assuming you are using the DotNet RP3.
The function :
FUNCTION RP3SQLCALLBACK(nMode, uParam)

Should be able to do the trick. Docs are in the listofchanges.txt file. It may not be so straightforward with the VO version.

Regards,
Tim
gjbiagiotti
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2019 10:16 pm

ReportPro 3.9 and sql table swap

Post by gjbiagiotti »

From what I have been able to see it is a bugs of Report Pro 3.9 in the version for VO 2.8
It is rare that no one has reported it.
Gerardo
gjbiagiotti
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2019 10:16 pm

ReportPro 3.9 and sql table swap

Post by gjbiagiotti »

Hello. I use the IRpRuntime{} class that I have generated through the VO Automation Server.
Would you have an example of VO code of how you send the tables to the report in execution mode?
Thanks.
Gerard
Jamal
Posts: 314
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 7:02 pm

ReportPro 3.9 and sql table swap

Post by Jamal »

Hello Gerard,

I don't use ReportPro with SQL, but the following may trigger some thoughts on your end :)

I think it is a good idea to check if the connection is the connection is successful first before calling other methods,

i.e.

Code: Select all

  If SELF: oReport: SetConnection (CONNECTION_ODBC, oGvar: cDriverSQL, 1, 1)
     // your code
  else
     // display error message
  endif
Also, what is 1 for handle1 and handle2 in the SetConnection(...) method parameters? Shouldn't you be passing SQLConnection:EnvHandle from an already established connection using the VO SQlConnection class?

HTH,
Jamal
gjbiagiotti
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2019 10:16 pm

ReportPro 3.9 and sql table swap

Post by gjbiagiotti »

Hi Jamal.
The problem is that the SQLConnection:EnvHandle and the SQLConnection:ConnHandle return non-numeric values.
They return 0x02233270 and 0x022332F0, respectively.
Gerard
Jamal
Posts: 314
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 7:02 pm

ReportPro 3.9 and sql table swap

Post by Jamal »

Hi Gerard,

Those are PTR values. The VO documentation is wrong to say EnvHandle is of LONG data type.

Internally the SQL class has a hidden variable:

Code: Select all

 HIDDEN hEnv           AS PTR
and declares:

Code: Select all

ACCESS EnvHandle CLASS SQLConnection

   RETURN hEnv
I suggest you declare:

Code: Select all

LOCAL pSqlRet AS PTR

// connect to to SQL....

// then 
pSqlRet := oYourSqlConnection:EnvHandle 

then pass it to ReportPro:

Code: Select all

If SELF: oReport: SetConnection (CONNECTION_ODBC, oGvar: cDriverSQL, pSqlRet  , pSqlRet )
     // your code
  else
     // display error message
  endif
HTH,
Jamal
gjbiagiotti
Posts: 33
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2019 10:16 pm

ReportPro 3.9 and sql table swap

Post by gjbiagiotti »

Hello jamal

In this code that you suggest, the variable pSqlRet is still of type PTR, and returns a value of the same type, but the SetConnection order of the Report needs a value of type numeric.

Gerard
Jamal
Posts: 314
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2017 7:02 pm

ReportPro 3.9 and sql table swap

Post by Jamal »

You can convert to a LONG and see how it goes.

LONG(pSqlRet)

Jamal
Post Reply