a possible way forward ? - after Cologne 2017 !

This forum is meant for questions and discussions about the X# language and tools
Phil Hepburn

Post by Phil Hepburn »

Hi Robert, Team, and all X# community and colleagues,

Now that the German xBase.Future conference is so close, and my preparation is all but done, I have started looking ahead to after the conference.

I wish to share with you some thoughts which I had very recently. These are to do with possible contributions I can make to helping promote X# / xBase and helping my friends and colleagues in that same community. Now that I am retired from paid work, I can contribute to making things easier for guys to get to grips with certain areas of X# and .NET - there are some areas where I have little to no knowledge however ;-0) someone else can cover those!

So far, since October last year (2016) I have explored X# and experimented with some new and exciting parts of the Roslyn based compiler, and placed working tests and snippets into a special appendix - named 'Appendix X' in my eVolume of eNotes called "ClickStartLINQ" - see a couple of images below (captured with SnagIt version 13) :-
NewNotes_01.jpg
NewNotes_01.jpg (43.11 KiB) Viewed 364 times
I started to put my new X# 'stuff' into this appendix simply because I was focused on doing a lot of good material on LINQ within the X# syntax - remember it was all new to me as previously I had to do my LINQ work in a C# class library. the rest of the 'ClickStartLINQ' eNotes had been done years before that and had therefore to be based on C# - this work has been left in the eNotes, as it was previously.

However, as time progressed from last October, I started doing many more areas of interest in X#, and these got added into the 'X' appendix. So at the moment, the existing sections and subsections are a bit mixed together - check below :-
NewNotes_02.jpg
NewNotes_02.jpg (111.83 KiB) Viewed 364 times