ampersand (&) Kaufmännisches Und in VO

Public support forum for peer to peer support with related to the Visual Objects and Vulcan.NET products
Fulgorth

Post by Fulgorth »

Hi @ all
I am quite new to XSharp and to VO as well. Please do not wonder why I have any interest in VO but I am working with a database program that used VO as User-Interface-Language with no documentation, no source code and no original programmers of the programm...I already found out that some VO funtions do not work inside the interface but others do. Unfortunately I am not even able to include own functions but at least it is possible to create modules and refer to them.

My real Project is to adjust this program using the user Interface to be able to transfer it bit by bit to a new selfprogrammed program.

Now my actual - maybe rather easy - question in regards to VO:

How do I include Ascii elements such as & to Strings in VO? Either by a function or by string controls. Best would be to know both ways.

What I actually know:
The Interface needs strings to be given inside "" or ''

Code: Select all

cText := "text" //resulting in: text
cText := 'text' //resulting in: text
making possible even:

Code: Select all

cText := 'text "including" quotationmarks' //resulting in: text "including" quotationmarks
when I give an ampersand the result unfortunately always gives an error.
I tested:
cText := "&"
cText := '&'
cText := ";&"
cText := "&&"
cText := "%&"
cText := "/&"
cText := "&"
cText := Ascii(38)

Please, if you have any VO source code snippets you could forward to me I would be glad to be able to reconstruct if used functions can be used inside the interface. I am pretty sure that actually I use quite bad workarounds as I just do not know the better functions to be used.
wriedmann

Post by wriedmann »

Hi Christian,
probably you are using a program that exposes the VO macro language to the user.