Hi @ all!

We encourage new members to introduce themselves here. Get to know one another and share your interests.
Fulgorth

Hi @ all!

Post by Fulgorth »

I'm Christian I am no professional programmer or developer. I have since young age found some interest in programming languages and so I tought myself by the precious internet to code some lines in C, C++, C#, VBA, Assembler and took a look in some other programming languages as well just for fun. I experimented a bit in SQL Database techniques and made my own thoughts about deep learning, AI and machine learning.

My main business is management in financial and legal services. As luck of the draw two years ago I decided to acquire a small tradional company. Lots of paperwork, unoptimized workflows, no workflows at all. The list of tasks to do is long. Quite early I had the idea to implement some of my own codings here and there with the aim to increase the quote of own coded sections bit by bit.

A hard nut to crack is one program that is in use for really old long term files (some 40+ years). Of course the program has no support. I contacted some people that are still helping for this product for incredible high rates. But indeed they all have no clue about the core structure but only knowledge about operation. But the program has a Makro language that enables to use VO functions. That made me creating two new projects. The one to get grip on the data of the database behind to export it to my own systems. The other to try out what is possible inside this very interesting and underestimated program from the 80's. I feel a bit like an IT-archeologist :-)

Well that lead me here and I think the X#-project is a great thing with a good portion of perspective. But of course I have no clue and with VO and X# I stand right at the starting line.
wriedmann

Hi @ all!

Post by wriedmann »

Hi Christian,
I already wondered why you searched for VO functions.