Any good places for complete newbies to learn all the xbase dialects?

This forum is meant for anything you would like to share with other visitors
desbest

Post by desbest »

Hello I'm new to xbase and know absolutely nothing about it but I do know some programming languages outside of xbase.

Can anyone give me some good tutorials, courses or books that can help me learn ALL the different xbase dialects? Free ones are preferred but if I inevitably have to buy a book then I'll do so.
Attachments
supported xbase dialects with xsharp.png
supported xbase dialects with xsharp.png (150.48 KiB) Viewed 1841 times
wriedmann

Post by wriedmann »

Hi Adisa,
personally I have a VO background, so I can tell you only about that. But it may be difficult to learn a development language when you only have a successor to it and not the original product.
May I ask why you would like the learn all xBase dialects? They are relatively different from each other and from the "original" product DBase III.
Wolfgang
Wolfgang Riedmann
Meran, South Tyrol, Italy
wolfgang@riedmann.it
https://www.riedmann.it - https://docs.xsharp.it
Terry

Post by Terry »

Hi Adisa

Further to what Wolfgang has said I would question why you would like to learn all XBase dialects?

The important thing to remember is that in all respects we are are up against time. If you spend time learning XBase, it is time you cannot spend learning X#. X# will not be standing still; it will be marching forward with more to learn as it embraces future technological capabilities.

Terry
desbest

Post by desbest »