Happy Birthday FORTRAN, and its one-based array technology !

This forum is meant for anything you would like to share with other visitors
Phil Hepburn

Post by Phil Hepburn »

Hi guys,

Since I was recently talking about FORTRAN and its one-based arrays, and how I used it for scientific (Chemistry / Physics) use way back when, I thought you may be interested in this link I just got today :-

https://opensource.com/article/17/11/ha ... ay-fortran

Looks like it won't be disappearing any time soon.

It interesting to see what it is used for today.

Regards,
Phil.
Frank Maraite

Post by Frank Maraite »

Hi Phil,

I used FORTRAN77 lastly when I did my diploma work 1984. Then I learned C and dBase and thought that FORTRAN is very outdated. I believe one reason why it is still there: people don't want to learn new things once they are familiar with a tool. And of course the non existing interoperability of those other languages. From my point of view there is nothing we cannot do in C and it's successors too but there are many things we cannot do in FORTRAN.

Maybe I'm wrong. There are so many languages out there ...

Frank
Phil Hepburn

Post by Phil Hepburn »

Hi Frank,

FORTRAN 77 was the last version I tried too :whistle:

However, if you read the Wikipedia entry for FORTRAN you will see that it has had quite a few updates and facelifts - AND - it was designed to be scientific - hence 'Formula Translator'.

I think you will find it good at what it is designed to do. Did you read the article and the code going into outer space etc., etc. ?

My point was that if it is so mathematical and science driven, one based arrays seems to have gone down well ;-0)

Chris is right in my opinion and zero base was forced by the C & C++ guys involved in the Microsoft development team. Microsoft were never that good at languages - that was Borland!

My 9 cents worth,
Cheers,
Phil.
rjpajaron

Post by rjpajaron »

I am Cobol guy: '87 no idea why!

Arrays on Cobol? I have no idea also.