Error Subcode: 1015 [RDD not found]

This forum is meant for questions and discussions about the X# language and tools
ic2
Posts: 1798
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2016 11:30 pm
Location: Holland

Error Subcode: 1015 [RDD not found]

Post by ic2 »

After running the part of our converted VO->WPF project where it should open a DBF file, we get this error:
Vulcan.NET Runtime Error

Error Code: 1 [Argument error]
Error Subcode: 1015 [RDD not found]
Subsystem: DBCMD
Function: INIT
Argument 3: rddName
Argument(s):
1: ""DBFCDX"" (STRING)

on this statement:

oOmschrijf := DBServer{"C:OurWorkDirOurDBF.dbf",true,,"DBFCDX"}

In the directory the file exists, can be opened with our VO browser dbv, and all Redist content of Vulcan is present in this directory.

What could cause this?

Dick
User avatar
wriedmann
Posts: 3644
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 5:07 pm
Location: Italy

Error Subcode: 1015 [RDD not found]

Post by wriedmann »

Hi Dick,

do you have all needed files in the program directory? For the DBFCDX RDD the following files should be needed:
VulcanVORDDClasses.dll
VulcanDBFCDX.dll
VulcanDBFFPT.dll
VulcanRDD.dll

In my WPF applications DBF access works, even in my sample for Cologne (where I show how to use DBF data in a WPF MVVM application).

Wolfgang
Wolfgang Riedmann
Meran, South Tyrol, Italy
wolfgang@riedmann.it
https://www.riedmann.it - https://docs.xsharp.it
Jello5

Error Subcode: 1015 [RDD not found]

Post by Jello5 »

Yes Wolfgang we double checked and it turns out we somehow moved a version back, we had version 4 before and after double checking, we had version 3. Somehow we must have taken the wrong DLL's in the process of moving from converted VO to WPF .
With the version 4 DLL's the statement works again:
oOmschrijf := DBServer{"C:OurWorkDirOurDBF.dbf",true,,"DBFCDX"}

Thanks for the help!
User avatar
wriedmann
Posts: 3644
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 5:07 pm
Location: Italy

Error Subcode: 1015 [RDD not found]

Post by wriedmann »

Hi Jelle,

why do you moved back to the V3 DLLs? Was it an ADS problem?

Wolfgang
Wolfgang Riedmann
Meran, South Tyrol, Italy
wolfgang@riedmann.it
https://www.riedmann.it - https://docs.xsharp.it
ic2
Posts: 1798
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2016 11:30 pm
Location: Holland

Error Subcode: 1015 [RDD not found]

Post by ic2 »

Hello Wolfgang,

Replying on Jelle's behalf: Earlier Chris mentioned that the DLL's and RDD's were not really different from version 3; work on Vulcan 4 was mostly getting it running in VS 2015.

I thought it is safer to use Vulcan 3 DLL's.

I wonder if it is somehow possible to have more information of the cause of the error. Instead of "RDD not found" it would be more informative to see that there is a version conflict. But I suspect this is one of the many limitations of Visual Studio....

Dick
User avatar
wriedmann
Posts: 3644
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 5:07 pm
Location: Italy

Error Subcode: 1015 [RDD not found]

Post by wriedmann »

Hi Dick,

they may not be very different, but it is always safer to use the newer ones. AFAIK there were a few changes (and bug fixes) in the compiler, but for sure nothing big.
I suspect you had a sort of DLL hell.

The error message does not come from Visual Studio, but from the Vulcan runtime - you will encounter the same if you run the application from XIDE or directly.

Maybe the X# runtime will give better error messages, but of course the message was correct: the application could not load the RDD.

Wolfgang

P.S. my hope is that the X# runtime will not be so problematic when mixing versions as the Vulcan (and VO) runtime was. An older compiled DLL should run also with a never version of the runtime as it was built for.
Wolfgang Riedmann
Meran, South Tyrol, Italy
wolfgang@riedmann.it
https://www.riedmann.it - https://docs.xsharp.it
ic2
Posts: 1798
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2016 11:30 pm
Location: Holland

Error Subcode: 1015 [RDD not found]

Post by ic2 »

Hello Wolfgang,
they may not be very different, but it is always safer to use the newer ones. AFAIK there were a few changes (and bug fixes) in the compiler, but for sure nothing big.
I have 3 reasons to use Vulcan 3:

1 I have more valid licenses for Vulcan 3 than for Vulcan 4
2 I did have problems earlier with using our X# DLL from VO using Vulcan 4 files. Probably a comparable DLL hell, also because we use ADS to complicate matters further, but as using .Net DLL's from VO without the need for registering is a very tricky business - one small issue and your whole VO program stops working- setting everything back to Vulcan 3 DLL's solved it and I was very reluctant to go back to 4.0 again.
3 Finally I seem to remember that Chris once told me basically nothing was changed concerning the Vulcan DLL's (3 to 4) but I may be wrong there and he'll correct me ;). And the Version 4.0.401.0 - August, 2015 do show only VS related changes.

In general I wonder how Bring Your Own works legally. Suppose someone never bought a Vulcan compiler at all but does possess the 'Redist' DLL's (e.g. because someone else's Vulcan based program is installed). Would it be 'illegal' to use these Vulcan DLL's/RDD from X# - as the user does not use the Vulcan compiler, for example? And am I correct (reading the roadmap) that at some point in time the programs will run without?

Dick
User avatar
wriedmann
Posts: 3644
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 5:07 pm
Location: Italy

Error Subcode: 1015 [RDD not found]

Post by wriedmann »

Hi Dick,

there is no working ADS RDD for Vulcan 4 and .NET 4, you need to build it yourself. If you need it, you can contact me - I have one that works. The SAP people seems to have built it only for .NET 3.5, but put it in both folders (for 3.5 and 4).

BYOR is perfectly legal if you use it for your development. But you need a distribution license to distribute the DLLs to your customers. This distribution license comes with a legally buyed Vulcan copy and AFAIK also with the Vulcan demo version.

So to be completely safe for licensing issues one should buy a Vulcan license if a redistribution is needed right now.

But the team os working on a own runtime, and when this is finished, you don't need the Vulcan runtime anymore.
The X# runtime is also needed because the Vulcan runtime is limited to x86 only, and the X# runtime will be AnyCPU, and hopefully the X# runtime will be more compatible to VO than the Vulcan one (like the compiler - the X# compiler is more compatible to VO than the Vulcan compiler).

So the Vulcan runtime issue will be a non-issue in a year when the X# runtime is completely working. And thanks to the fact that the X# runtime is open source, we will have the chance to look at the details, and to propose maybe changes.

Wolfgang
Wolfgang Riedmann
Meran, South Tyrol, Italy
wolfgang@riedmann.it
https://www.riedmann.it - https://docs.xsharp.it
ic2
Posts: 1798
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2016 11:30 pm
Location: Holland

Error Subcode: 1015 [RDD not found]

Post by ic2 »

Hello Wolfgang,

To be honest I wasn't sure anymore. I have 2 download links:

http://devzone.advantagedatabase.com/fo ... 2_F2F4.zip
http://devzone.advantagedatabase.com/fo ... 1_F2F4.zip
and I'd say both are Vulcan 3. In the last "announcement" of Brian in his NG, he wrote that Vulcan 4 RDD's were available in

http://devzone.advantagedatabase.com/dz ... aspx?key=1. If you click that and then Advantage Database Server 11.10.0.30 Service Update it says "There are no updates to ADS SErver or to Advantage Client Engine" (including that SE in server...).

So it's all a bit confusing but given the fact that you've been working on it the announcement of Brian apparently was of no value (surprise, surprise).

On the other hand: this means that there's even more reason for me to keep using the Vulcan 3 DLL's. In a while we won't need them anymore anyhow.

Thanks also for the BYOR explanation.
I will document Jelle's + my work on this for the Wiki.

Dick
User avatar
wriedmann
Posts: 3644
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 5:07 pm
Location: Italy

Error Subcode: 1015 [RDD not found]

Post by wriedmann »

Hi Dick,

both of your download links are for Vulcan 3 and don't work for Vulcan 4.

The last download includes a Vulcan 4 RDD, but unfortunately both files are built for .NET 3.5.
The only solution (that works for me) is to decompile the RDD and rebuild it.

Of course I can give it to you (but I have to admit that the credit to this solution does NOT go to me, I have received the hint from someone else that helped me).

Wolfgang
Wolfgang Riedmann
Meran, South Tyrol, Italy
wolfgang@riedmann.it
https://www.riedmann.it - https://docs.xsharp.it
Post Reply