Anonymous Types - syntax needed

This forum is meant for questions and discussions about the X# language and tools
Phil Hepburn

Post by Phil Hepburn »

Hi Team,

I am just starting out on my quest to prepare suitable materials on LINQ for the Cologne Conference on xBase in April. I am using as a base a huge amount of good stuff I did way back using C#.

I have made my first successful steps in VS 2015 with the latest XSharp compiler, and now wish to go further.

I need to be able to specify and use anonymous types as shown in the C# code in the attachments - PLEASE help me move forward.

Its the 'new { .... }' stuff that I need help with.

Best Regards,
Phil.
Attachments
FFhelpSyntax_01.jpg
FFhelpSyntax_01.jpg (22 KiB) Viewed 346 times
FFhelpSyntax_02.jpg
FFhelpSyntax_02.jpg (29.23 KiB) Viewed 346 times
robert

Post by robert »

Phil,

Our syntax for an anonymous type is:

Code: Select all

VAR o := CLASS { Name := "test", Value := "something" }
and in combination with LINQ:

VAR         result := from c in db.Customers where c.Orders.Count > 0 ;
 select CLASS{ ID := C.CustomerID, Name := C.CustomerName, OrderCount := C.Orders.Count}

I know our documentation is far from ready, but this is listed in the "New Features" branch in the TOC.

Robert
XSharp Development Team
The Netherlands
robert@xsharp.eu
Phil Hepburn

Post by Phil Hepburn »

Thanks a bunch Robert,

I knew you would put me straight ;-0) My post was NOT a complaint of any sort.

I am a little (a lot?) 'rusty' after 6 months 'off' and so I may well have missed something somewhere - sorry !

I will give this a go with what I have done so far today. Things are coming on nicely.

Fingers Crossed,
Phil.
Phil Hepburn

Post by Phil Hepburn »

Robert,

Just a quick post to celebrate my success with your suggested syntax ;-0) Most appreciated.
FFhelpSyntax_05.jpg
FFhelpSyntax_05.jpg (4.19 KiB) Viewed 346 times