VFP has stirred something

We encourage new members to introduce themselves here. Get to know one another and share your interests.
lumberjack

Post by lumberjack »

Hi all,
I see my recent VFP has stirred some views, well actually already more than 250. So how about all the lurkers just do a little post...
I am Johan Nel, from South Africa.
I have been programming since 1986 using dBase III+, moved on to Clipper/VO/Vulcan and now X#. I feel excited about what I see in X#, a true .NET compiler using my favorite xBase syntax but with the opportunity to consume the whole .NET world.
I believe X# is the xBase version of The next best thing to sliced bread.
Terry

Post by Terry »

Hi Johan

> I believe X# is the xBase version of The next best thing to sliced bread.

OK so my two pennyw'rth.

X# does all you say. To me it is a Business Oriented language, and as such is the .Net version of COBOL.

Many here, understandably, seem to look at XSharp as bringing the past (Clipper/VO, Vulcan etc) up to date. That, of course, was the idea behind it.

But by bringing things up to date, it has just as importantly arguably more so, opened the door for future AUTOMATIC program updating in the future.

Tools to do this are in their infancy at the moment. The techniques to "future-proof" applications at the moment, though well established, have to be implemented manually, which requires huge amounts of time: Not consistent with business demands to change things at the drop of a hat.

This will change. Just as in real life, when we can't do something within a reasonable time scale we get someone else to do it for us, in our programming endeavours all we need is the right software tool.

Terry
lumberjack

Post by lumberjack »

Hi Terry,
Terry wrote: > I believe X# is the xBase version of The next best thing to sliced bread.
X# does all you say. To me it is a Business Oriented language, and as such is the .Net version of COBOL.